Artists: Klartraum
Title: Space Void (Void Universes Album Pt. 2)
Label: Lucidflow
Release Date: 17 July 2017

1 – The Non Verbal I Am
2 – False Self
3 – What Lies Within (Club Mix)
4 – Fat Cat In The Sun
5 – What Lies Within (Binaural Theta Ambient Flow)

There are benefits to owning your own label. Besides being able to sign friends and newcomers alike, while heading up Lucidlow, Nadja Lind and Helmut Ebritsch have also been able to exert creative control over their Klartraum project to their own exacting specifications. Their last studio album ‘Enneagram’ was a conceptual piece that spanned four releases over the course of the year. Now their fourth album ‘Void Universes’ sees a similar concept, inspired by the teachings of Stephen Wolinsky, with each a quartet of releases themed to each one of the aforementioned universes.

With the first edition ‘Energy Void’ already out, we now clear our palates for the ‘Space Void’ edition. The five tracker sets out in appropriate fashion with ‘The Non Verbal I Am’. It is always surprising how a series of machines knitted together can surmise the emotion of a journey through space, but Klartraum demonstrate the power of electronica with aplomb. All thanks to the combination of the shifting chords, space FX and the grandiose Hans Zimmer doomy cosmos that paints in towards the middle of the mix.

‘False Self’ is a touch more terrestrial with its precise harpsichord-esque keys that walk over the track. The fingertip melodies are only interrupted in brief when a dewy break saws across the mid-section. ‘Fat Cat In The Sun’ begins with 303 led ambient, a tone not often seen in the past history of Klartraum, before easing into a languid dub-house groove, albeit with a slight classical nod through the twinkling piano. The 303 is retained, operating in its upper registers ala classic Tin Man productions.

Then finally we have two cuts of ‘What Lies Within’. The club version rolls out some crisp and swinging beats over some “after the rain” background atmospheres. Then, slap bang in the middle, a laid back trance-esque breakdown brings in the drama with class. Over on the “Binaural Theta Ambient Flow”, the beats are discarded so those background textures are exposed to their fullest, and the emotive trance synths take centre stage in timeless grace.

Coming out on 17th July on Beatport, keep an ear to the ground for the forthcoming ‘Mass Void’ and ‘Time Void’ editions. Plus check back on the already released ‘Energy Void’ edition.

Lascia un commento

Questo sito usa Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come i tuoi dati vengono elaborati.