Artists: Various
Title: Defected Presents: House Masters ‘Jazz-N-Groove’
Label: Defected
Release Date: 12 May 2017
Format(s): 2CD / Download / Streaming

1. Soulsearcher ‘Can’t Get Enough’ (Vocal Club Mix)
2. Cleptomaniacs featuring Bryan Chambers ‘All I Do’ (Original Cleptomaniacs Mix)
3. Loleatta Holloway ‘Dreamin’’ (Jazz-N-Groove Club Mix)
4. Moné ‘We Can Make It’ (Jazz-N-Groove 12” Album Mix)
5. Louie Vega ‘Mozalounge’ (Jazz-N-Groove Dub)
6. Michelle Weeks ‘The Light’ (UBP Club Mix)
7. Soulsearcher ‘UNI’ (The 4 a.m. Satisfaction Mix)
8. Jetlag ‘So Right’ (Axwell & BT’s Essence Dub)
9. The Keith Thompson Project ‘The Rhythm Of Life’ (Jazz-N-Groove Prime Time Dub)
10. Jazz-N-Groove featuring Mystery Marquis ‘Freedom’ (Jazz-N-Groove Club Mix)
11. Body Moods ‘Agitate It’ (Jazz-N-Groove Deep Mix)

1. Soulsearcher ‘Feelin’ Love’ (Soulsearcher Club Mix)
2. Shakedown ‘At Night’ (Jazz-N-Groove Prime Time Remix)
3. Donna Allen ‘He Is The Joy’ (U.B.P. Classic Mix)
4. Frankie Knuckles ‘Bac N Da Day’ (Clepto’s Mix)
5. Universal Love ‘Ritmo Da Rua’ (Brian Tappert Prime Time Vibe)
6. Arnold Jarvis ‘Special Kind Of Love’ (Jazz-N-Groove Primetime Club Mix)
7. Community featuring Fonda Rae ‘Over Like A Fat Rat’ (Jazz-N-Groove Classic Mix)
8. Jazz-N-Groove ‘Do Ya’ (Groove Mix)
9. Capriccio ‘Everybody Get Up’ (Jazz-N-Groove Nu Disco Vocal)
10. Katrina Vaughn ‘Deep Day’ (Jazz-N-Groove Club Mix)
11. Urban Blues Project present Michael Proctor ‘Deliver Me’ (UBP Vocal Mix)


In house music circles, the name Jazz-N-Groove is spoken in reverential tones. Brian Tappert & Marc Pomeroy’s involvement in music stretches back to the 1980s. Brian’s early DJ career drew inspiration from Tony Humphries’ radio show in his native New Jersey, whilst Floridian Marc honed his technical abilities as a producer and studio engineer with tastes ranging from Steely Dan to MFSB.

The early 90s saw Brian trying his hand at production and Marc turning his to house music, and a chance meeting in 1992 heralded the birth of one of house music’s most prolific and well-respected partnerships.

Best known as Jazz-N-Groove, but also recording individually and collaboratively as Urban Blues Project, Soulsearcher and Cleptomaniacs (together with longtime friend John Julius Knight), for labels such as Bassline, Suburban, Strictly Rhythm and AM:PM, their work fast became touchstones for their soulful heart and exquisite musicianship.

The pair’s business acumen would prove as sharp as their ear for music, establishing the much-loved Soulfuric label family in 1996, and the pioneering specialist download store Traxsource in 2004.

Defected’s first ever single was Soulsearcher’s UK Top 10 hit ‘Can’t Get Enough’, and the label’s relationship with the duo now comes full circle as Jazz-N-Groove join the ranks of House Masters. ‘Defected presents House Masters – Jazz-N-Groove’ is set to be released as a double CD, along with a giant digital release boasting no less than 30 essential cuts from their impressive repertoire.

Marc Pomeroy’s ‘Can’t Get Enough’ is naturally included, along with Brian & Marc’s first co-production Urban Blues Project ‘Deliver Me’ – a firm favourite of Godfather of House Frankie Knuckles – such bonafide house classics as Cleptomaniacs ‘All I Do’ and Moné ‘We Can Make It’ (made with regular collaborator Roy Grant), plus stellar remixes for Loleatta Holloway, Donna Allen, Louie Vega and Shakedown.

With tracks presented in full-length, unmixed format, ‘Defected presents House Masters – Jazz-N-Groove’ is an essential addition to the collections of DJs and fans of soulful house music alike.

Lascia un commento

Questo sito usa Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come i tuoi dati vengono elaborati.